EldoS | Feel safer!

Software components for data protection, secure storage and transfer

Memory leak while using sendMessageCallback

Also by EldoS: SecureBlackbox
200+ components and classes for digital security, signing, encryption and secure networking.
Posted: 08/29/2012 18:31:14
by Sudhanshu  (Basic support level)

Hi,

I am new to MsgConnect and using it for p2p communication in a cluster for my research project. I am using sendMessageCallback function to request an object OBJ from Node A to B. It works as following:

Node A sends request RQ to Node B regarding OBJ using sendMessageCallback. Node B gets an event E with message M and gets the OBJ from its local cache. It updates the received message M with OBJ and sets M as handled. Node A on receiving callback extracts the OBJ out of message M.

My issue is when Node B while handling event tries to send the updated message back it required to create a memory buffer BUF on heap and copy all serialized data into it, so that memory pointed by "MCMessage.Data" is persisted till message is actually sendback. But once message is actually sent back I should delete this buffer, else it will simply leak. Unfortunately I am unable to find any function which can tell me that it is safe now to delete the BUF. Can you suggest some way to deal with this situation?

I am not using any Garbage Collector library for this C++ (linux) research project.

I know this buffer should persist only per dispatch message call, at end of dispatch message call the message will be send and I can reuse same buffer. But I am unable to pass some buffer handle to it, which can be used in Message event handler.

Also suggest if I can use a some other function which supports such messaging?

I am adding my MSCtest_cpp.txt file with this message for your reference. I am creating a buffer in line 61.

-Thanks

[ Download ]
Posted: 08/30/2012 01:32:47
by Eugene Mayevski (EldoS Corp.)

Your problem is in event2() function: