EldoS | Feel safer!

Software components for data protection, secure storage and transfer

Basic Questions

Also by EldoS: RawDisk
Access locked and protected files in Windows, read and write disks and partitions and more.
Posted: 02/25/2008 09:46:11
by Michael Smith (Basic support level)

Hi all,

I am new to using SBB. In my first attempt, I’m using SBB to pgp encrypt a file for a customer using their public key. The code appears to work, in that it outputs the pgp file and doesn’t error, however my client insist that they cannot open the file.

I am hoping that I am missing something basic in the code posted below. I really appreciate anyone's time and effort to look at this.

One thing I'm suspicous about is the second parameter in the keyring.Load call. It seems that this parameter "Secret Key" is required, but I dont need to use it (I dont think), so I'm passing in the public key again there.

------------
SBUtils.Unit.SetLicenseKey(SBUtils.Unit.BytesOfString("---MyLicensceKey--"));

keyring = new TElPGPKeyring();
keyring.Load(HttpRuntime.AppDomainAppPath + PGP_PUBLICKEY_PATH, HttpRuntime.AppDomainAppPath + PGP_PUBLICKEY_PATH, true);

publicKey = new TElPGPKeyring();
publicKey.AddPublicKey(keyring.get_PublicKeys(0));

Stream s = File.Open(ExportFilePath, FileMode.Open);
StreamReader sr = new StreamReader(s);

ExportFilePath = ExportFilePath + ".pgp";
fileName = fileName + ".pgp";

FileStream outF = new FileStream(ExportFilePath, FileMode.Create);

TElPGPWriter writer = new TElPGPWriter();
writer.EncryptingKeys = publicKey;
writer.UseNewFeatures = false;
writer.UseOldPackets = true;
writer.EncryptionType = SBPGP.TSBPGPEncryptionType.etPublicKey;
writer.Timestamp = DateTime.Now;
writer.Encrypt(sr.BaseStream, outF, 0);
------------

Thanks in advance for your help :)

Mike
Posted: 02/25/2008 09:57:02
by Eugene Mayevski (EldoS Corp.)

0) Pass empty string as the second parameter. Private ("secret") keys are not needed for encryption of the data.