EldoS | Feel safer!

Software components for data protection, secure storage and transfer

Practical Advice for Connecting via SFTP

Also by EldoS: CallbackFilter
A component to monitor and control disk activity, track file and directory operations (create, read, write, rename etc.), alter file data, encrypt files, create virtual files.
Posted: 02/26/2016 15:20:24
by Roger Dunn (Standard support level)

I am new to the world of SSH, but not to Delphi or the VCL. I have read many, many KB articles and forum posts on the topic of connecting to servers via SFTP on this web site. I have spent probably 6 hours or more researching, but I have more questions that need answering. So, I decided to become a member and ask. (I have a Purchase Order awaiting approval for the VCL edition of BlackBox SFTP-client).

Like other posters, I have been in e-mail contact with the server administrator of the server that I wish to connect to. I have provided him a 2056-bit RSA key (which I generated from the SSHKeysDemo, thank you very much!) and I have been able to obtain his public key using TElSimpleSFTPClient.OnKeyValidate, using the ServerKey parameter's SavePublicKey method. (I didn't know what extension to use, so I chose .key and Windows thinks it's a Windows Registry file) This is simply background; it's not my question. But first...