EldoS | Feel safer!

Software components for data protection, secure storage and transfer

Problem using ElSimpleFTPSClient component

Also by EldoS: RawDisk
Access locked and protected files in Windows, read and write disks and partitions and more.
Posted: 05/08/2014 22:03:46
by Dave Kocrotus (Basic support level)

Hello, I am new to secureBlackBox. Recently I was assigned to perform a research on building a system that require FTPS connection.

After some research, a friend of mine propose a recommendation to use Eldos SecureBlackBox (FTPS client component), so I started the evaluation process.

Then, I tried the component using the example provided, but it seems that there is a problem with the connection. The FTPS client example provided can not successfully activate the SSL channel and have the following error message :

"Error occured while enabling SSL/TLS on command channel"

The FTP is in linux box and using ProFTPD server. I asked the linux admin and they gave me the log. What I do not understand is , the ftp server log shows me something like this :

"error:1408F10B:SSL routines:SSL3_GET_RECORD:wrong version number"

I was curious and tried again in another PC, from 5 PC, 2 of them were connected successfully, but the other 3 failed with ftp server log above.

The linux admin gave me the proftpd conf that look like this
======================

TLSEngine on
TLSLog /var/log/tls.log
TLSProtocol SSLv23
TLSRequired off
TLSOptions NoSessionReuseRequired
TLSVerifyClient off
TLSRenegotiate required off

======================

I wonder, what is wrong here, is it something to do with the windows box ?
For information, all windows box are Windows 7 32 bit, and I use Delphi XE2 for testing.

Can somebody explain to me what's wrong with it ?

Thanks.
Posted: 05/09/2014 01:19:32
by Vsevolod Ievgiienko (EldoS Corp.)

Thank you for contacting us.