EldoS | Feel safer!

Software components for data protection, secure storage and transfer

new to sftp and secureblackbox

Also by EldoS: CallbackRegistry
A component to monitor and control Windows registry access and create virtual registry keys.
Posted: 08/18/2009 14:24:56
by Joe Pettit (Standard support level)

I have on older Delphi app that used Delphi 7 and Indy FTP components that I need to update. My clients have recently changed their FTP site to use vsftpd and openssh. My app is required to connect to the new site via sftp. I am not an expert in SFTP or Secureblackbox but I am trying to get a test app out to the client asap, I have been playing with the sample "simplesftpdemo" and I am confused by what I should use for some of the properties such as authentication type and private key. This is the information the client has provided me with so far : (this info was based on the client connecting to the vsftp server with filezilla) - "verify that you have the connections set to either SSH or FTPES – FTP over explicit TLS/SSL and that you have the IP set to 11.1.111.11 port 22 and a host file entry set to: 11.1.111.11 ftps.xxxxx.com".
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks, Joe
Posted: 08/18/2009 14:46:52
by Mykola Olshevsky (Basic support level)

Hi. By default SFTP servers requires user login and corresponding password to allow connection, and this login/password should be provided by your client (along with server's ip and so on). Or, server can require public-key authentication which needs your private key.
So please describe your problem in more details : you have a login and password, but SimpleSFTP demo cannot connect (but Filezilla does), or ...?
Posted: 08/19/2009 10:56:07