EldoS | Feel safer!

Software components for data protection, secure storage and transfer

After verification of timestamp problem

Also by EldoS: CallbackRegistry
A component to monitor and control Windows registry access and create virtual registry keys.
Posted: 10/16/2008 09:37:30
by David Martinez (Basic support level)

Hi everybody,

first of all I am a littel bit confused about what I am trying to do because I am a newbie in this stuff, so if anything sounds stupid, pleas my apologies.

I have succeed in signing document buffered into an array of bytes. Now I want to timestamp this moment of signing. The process is the following:

SBHTTPTSPClient.TElHTTPTSPClient TSPClient = new SBHTTPTSPClient.TElHTTPTSPClient();

TSPClient.HashAlgorithm = SBConstants.Unit.SB_ALGORITHM_DGST_SHA1;
SBHashFunction.TElHashFunction hash = new SBHashFunction.TElHashFunction(SBConstants.Unit.SB_ALGORITHM_DGST_SHA1, new SBCryptoProvBuiltIn.TElBuiltInCryptoProvider());
hash.Update(bufsign, 0, bufsign.Length);
byte[] digest = hash.Finish();

int result, failureinfo;
int error = TSPClient.Timestamp(digest, out result, out failureinfo, out bufsignaturetsp);

I use a digest instead of the bufsign (the signature of the document) because in some place I read that I had to do so.
After this error, result and failureinfo are 0 so I guess the process is good.

Later I rebuild the timestamp info with

SBTSPClient.TElClientTSPInfo tspinfo = new SBTSPClient.TElClientTSPInfo();
tspinfo.ParseCMS(signaturetsp);

and shows correctly the information.

My question is ¿how later having my document and the signature of it can I verify that this timestamp belongs to de document?

I assume all the process can be wrong but any help will appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

David
Posted: 10/16/2008 10:03:57
by Ken Ivanov (EldoS Corp.)

Thank you for your interest in our products.