EldoS | Feel safer!

Software components for data protection, secure storage and transfer

Encryption

Also by EldoS: BizCrypto
Components for BizTalk® and SQL Server® Integration Services that let you securely store and transfer information in your business automation solutions.
Posted: 12/17/2013 02:33:49
by Rico Domonkos (Basic support level)

Hello!

I'm new to this.
Where should I apply encryption for the virtual disk?
I want the image to be encrypted, so on the fly encryption/decryption needed.
Any advices on this?

Thanks in advance.
Posted: 12/17/2013 03:00:22
by Volodymyr Zinin (EldoS Corp.)

Hello,

Thank you for interesting of CallbackDisk. You can add the code to encrypt in the OnWrite callback and to decrypt in the OnRead callback. The chunk of data to read/write is always multiple to the sector size so it isn't hard to use block cipher in this case.
Posted: 12/17/2013 03:44:45

Vladimir Zinin wrote:
Hello,

Thank you for interesting of CallbackDisk. You can add the code to encrypt in the OnWrite callback and to decrypt in the OnRead callback. The chunk of data to read/write is always multiple to the sector size so it isn't hard to use block cipher in this case.

Thank you Vladimir!
I can not find the OnWrite and OnRead callbacks, are you referring to OnReadFile and OnWriteFile callbacks instead?

Regarding the help, the OnWriteFile callback will only succeed when the written bytes are the same as the Count parameter.

I'd like to use System.Security.Cryptography namespace for asymmetric RSA enryption. Is that possible with your library? Can you please provide some example for that?

If it works, then I'm sold.

Thanks!
Posted: 12/17/2013 06:00:42
by Eugene Mayevski (EldoS Corp.)

Yes, they are historically named OnReadFile and OnWriteFile. Still those events refer to the backend storage (which is often a file) and not to the file on the filesystem that you expose.