EldoS | Feel safer!

Software components for data protection, secure storage and transfer

Cache Management Policy

Also by EldoS: CallbackProcess
A component to control process creation and termination in Windows and .NET applications.
Posted: 06/03/2009 19:10:58
by Sangmin Lee (Standard support level)

Dear developers,

I'm studying Callback FS as an alternative in out project.
We're developed a clustered FS like google FS or Hadoop.
We'd like to deploy our client FS on Windows.

What I want to know is a cache management policy of Callback FS.
The kernel driver of FUSE in Linux manages metadata caching in time basis.
Once clients open a file, file information takes from our metadata server to client and remains caching by timeout after closing.
If clients re-open same file, then file info takes from cache.
If file's modified before re-open, FUSE kernel driver takes it from metadata server again.

How's the kernel driver of Callback FS?
It's the most important factor whether we choose or not.

Peace be with you

Sangmin
Posted: 06/04/2009 03:10:29
by Volodymyr Zinin (EldoS Corp.)

Hi,

CallbackFS also caches the metadata information (file size, last-write time, last-open time, etc) for recently opened files. But it's possible to either completely disable this cache (by means of the DisableMetaDataCache API) or tell CallbackFS only about changing some files (using the NotifyDirectoryChange API). The last case is more powerful. If a notified file is currently not opened and its metadata is in the cache then the metadata is removed from it. But if the file is opened then all handles to it are marked as bad (and only the CloseHandle calls will be successful after) and the metadata are also removed from the cache.
If you need more information about NotifyDirectoryChange, look for it in this forum. There were several discussions here. For example: http://www.eldos.com/forum/read.php?FID=13&TID=1634
Posted: 07/06/2009 21:12:52

Thanks for your reply.

Sangmin